RSS 分享按钮  

China at a glance

CPC Encyclopedia

Located in East Asia on the western coast of the Pacific Ocean, China has a land area of 9.6 million square km, sea territory of 4.7 million square km and a costal line lasting for 18,000 km.

The country enjoys abundant resources.

China shares common land borders with 14 countries. It also has six neighbors across the sea.

China is multi-ethnic country, with 56 ethnic groups.

In the socialist China, the Communist Party of China (CPC) is the sole party in power, and the system of multi-party cooperation and political consultation under the leadership of the CPC is practiced as a basic political system.

According to China's administrative division, the country is divided into four municipalities, 23 provinces, five autonomous regions and two special administrative regions.

Beijing is the capital of China.

The country adheres to an independent foreign policy of peace and develops relations with other countries around the world according to the Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence.

China insists on a path of peaceful development and a defensive national defense policy.

(Source: China Intercontinental Press)