RSS 分享按钮  

Party congresses end for 13 provinces and autonomous regions

CPC Encyclopedia

Party congresses for 13 provinces and autonomous regions began in October 2011 to elect the provincial-level Party committees. Yunnan province is next on the list to hold congress out of the 32 provinces, mucipalities and autonomous regions. 

The 13 regions are Liaoning province, Henan province, Jiangxi province, Anhui province, the Xinjiang Uygur autonomous region, Shanxi province, Jiangsu province, the Inner Mongolia autonomous region, the Tibet autonomou region, the Guangxi Zhuang autonomous region, Fujian province, Hebei province and Hunan province.

According the the Party Constituion, the Party congress of a province, autonomous region or municipality directly under the central government is held once every five years. The powers of the local Party congresses include hearing and examining the reports of the local Party committees and electing the local Party committees. The local Party committees are elected for a term of five years.

The schedule for this year's local Party congresses is in line with precedents. The above mentioned 14 regions all completed the election of local Party committees in 2006 and 2001, one year before the National Congress in 2007 and 2002 respectively. 

In the first half of this year, the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection and the Organization Department of the CPC Central Committee jointly sent teams to the 14 provinces and regions to supervise and guide local Party congresses.

In September, a second batch of teams went to the following 17 provinces, municipalities and autonomous regions to administer the local Party congresses: Beijing, Tianjin, Jilin, Heilongjiang, Shanghai, Zhejiang, Shandong, Hubei, Guangdong, Hainan, Chongqing, Sichuan, Guizhou, Shaanxi, Gansu, Qinghai and Ningxia. 

The following table shows the exact date when the 14 regions began their local Party congresses:

Area   This  time  Last time 
Liaoning  October 10, 2011  October 23, 2006 
Henan  October 26, 2011  October 23, 2006 
Jiangxi  October 26, 2011  December 12, 2006
Anhui  October 26, 2011  October 26, 2006 
 Xinjiang October 26, 2011  October 19, 2006 
Shanxi  October 27, 2011  October 26, 2006 
Jiangsu  November 6, 2011  November 8, 2006 
Inner Mongolia  November 10, 2011  November 19, 2006 
Guangxi  November 11, 2011  November 15, 2006 
Tibet  November 12, 2011  October 18, 2006 
Fujian  November 15, 2011  November 22, 2006 
Hebei  November 18, 2011  November 9, 2006 
Hunan November 18, 2011  November 8, 2006 
Yunnan  November 25, 2011  November12, 2006